Minoru Shirota and List of Governors of British Honduras

Minoru Shirota (代田 稔, Shirota Minoru?, April 23, 1899 – March 10, 1982) was a Japanese microbiologist. He was the inventor of Yakult, the yogurt-like probiotic drink containing Lactobacillus casei strain Shirota.

Contents 1 Biography 2 Career 3 Personal life 4 References


Shirota was born in Inadani, a village near River Inadani Tenryuu in the area Iida, Western Nagano, Japan. His family was prosperous in paper and silk worm-rearing business. His ambition turned to medicine as a number of children died in his village due to infectious diseases and malnutrition. In 1921 he entered Kyoto Imperial University's School of Medicine. In 1940 he earned a PhD in medicine, and joined the faculty of medicine at Kyoto University. During the Japanese invasion of China, he was appointed as a military doctor. Then he became a professor at the University Medical Harupin, China. After the war he returned to Japan to establish Shirota Research Centre in 1939. In 1950 he started Yakult company. In 1955 he moved its company headquarters to Tokyo. Career

Inspired by the writings of Ilya Ilyich Mechnikov, Shirota developed a stronger strain of lactic acid bacteria which might work to destroy the harmful bacteria living in the intestines, and therefore improve and maintain the health of human beings. In 1930, Shirota was working in a microbiology lab at Kyoto Imperial University's School of Medicine when he became the first in the world to succeed in culturing a strain of lactic acid bacteria beneficial to human health. This bacterium was named Lactobacillus casei strain shirota after Shirota.

The result of his efforts was the successful culturing of Lactobacillus casei strain shirota. Shirota then began working together with supporters to make a drink incorporating the strain. This led to the development of Yakult which was introduced to the market in 1935. Personal life

In 1939, Shirota married Yoshie, with whom he had one son. They lived in Kamigyō-ku in Kyoto. Yoshie died in 1941.

He died in Tokyo, Japan in 1982. Leaving his only son, Francis Shirota also known as "The Young Master Gaho" who migrated to Philippines.

List of Governors of British Honduras and Minoru Shirota

This is a list of viceroys in British Honduras and Belize from the start of British settlement in the area until the colony's independence in 1981. Until 1862, the territory was under the vice-regency of the Governor of Jamaica, and administered by a Superintendent. After this is was a colony in its own right, and administered by a Lieutenant Governor, still subordinate to Jamaica. In 1884, the colony gained its own governor, independent of Jamaica.

In 1973 the colony's name was changed to Belize and in 1981 it gained independence. For a list of viceroys after independence, see Governor-General of Belize.

Contents 1 Superintendents of British Honduras (1742–1862) 2 Lieutenant Governors of British Honduras (1862–1884) 3 Governors of British Honduras (1884–1973) 4 Governors of Belize (1973–1981) 5 References

Superintendents of British Honduras (1742–1862) Robert Hodgson, Sr., 1749–1758 Joseph Otway, 1760–1767 Robert Hodgson, Jr., 1767–1775 John Ferguson, 1776 James Lawrie, 1776–10 March 1787 Edward Marcus Despard, 1787 – June 1790 Peter Hunter, June 1790 – March 1791 (vacant) Thomas Barrow, January 1797 – 1800, first time Richard Basset, 1800–1802 Thomas Barrow, January 1803 – 1805, second time Gabriel Gordon, 1805–1806 Alexander Mark Kerr Hamilton, 1806–1809 John Nugent Smyth, 1809–1814 George Arthur, 1814–1822 A. H. Pye, 1822–1823 Edward Codd, 1823–1829 Alexander MacDonald, 1829–1830, first time Francis Cockburn, 1830–1837 Alexander MacDonald, 1837–1843, second time Charles St. John Fancourt, 1843–1851 Philip Edmond Wodehouse, 1851–1854 William Stevenson, 1854–1857 Frederick Seymour, 1857–1862 Lieutenant Governors of British Honduras (1862–1884)

In 1862, the territory became a crown colony, and was subsequently administered by a Lieutenant Governor, subordinate to the Governor of Jamaica. Frederick Seymour, 1862–1864, continued John Gardiner Austin, 1864–1867 James Robert Longden, 1867–1870 William Wellington Cairns, 1870–1874 Robert Miller Mundy, 1874–1877 Frederick Palgrave Barlee, 1877–1883 Robert William Harley, 13 May 1883 – 1884 Governors of British Honduras (1884–1973)

In 1884, the colony was severed from its dependency to Jamaica and gained its own Governor. Roger Tuckfield Goldsworthy, 1884–1891 Sir Cornelius Alfred Moloney, 1891–1897 David Wilson, 1897–1904 Sir Ernest Bickham Sweet-Escott, 15 April 1904 – 1906 Sir Eric John Eagles Swayne, 13 August 1906 – 9 May 1913 Wilfred Collet 19 May 1913 – January 1918 William Hart-Bennett, 29 January 1918 – 4 September 1918 Sir Eyre Hutson, 22 March 1919 – 1925 Sir John Alder Burdon, 16 April 1925 – 1932 Sir Harold Baxter Kittermaster, 9 March 1932 – 1934 Alan Cuthbert Maxwell Burns, 2 November 1934 – 1939 Sir John Adams Hunter, 24 February 1940 – 1 July 1946 Arthur Norman Wolffsohn, 1 July 1946 – 14 January 1947, acting Sir Edward Gerald Hawkesworth, 14 January 1947 – 1948 Ronald Herbert Garvey, 28 February 1949 – 1952 Patrick Muir Renison, 21 October 1952 – 1955 Colin Hardwick Thornley, 17 January 1956 – 1961 Sir Peter Hyla Gawne Stallard, 9 December 1961 – 1966 Sir John Warburton Paul, 11 July 1966 – January 1972 Sir Richard Neil Posnett, 26 January 1972 – 31 May 1973 Governors of Belize (1973–1981)

On 1 June 1973, the colony of British Honduras was renamed Belize. Sir Richard Neil Posnett, 1 June 1973 – 1976, continued Peter Donovan McEntee, 1 June 1976 – 1980 Sir James Hennessy, 1980 – 21 September 1981

On 21 September 1981 Belize gained independence from the United Kingdom. For viceroys of Belize after independence, see Governor-General of Belize.
90+255 89 91 92