SG SS Straßburg and Mescalito (album)

SS Straßburg was a German association football club from the city of Straßburg, Elsass (today Strasbourg, Alsace in France).

The team was founded in 1900 as FC Frankonia 1900 Straßburg when the region was under German control. Following the end of World War I the territory of Alsace was returned to France and the team became part of that country's competition as Sport-Club Red-Star Straßbourg. In August 1940, after the Nazi conquest of the province, Frankonia collapsed, but was immediately re-constituted out of its former membership as Sportgemeinschaft Schutzstaffel Straßburg in September.

The formation of military clubs was common in Germany at the time, but the creation of an SS side required the permission of Schutzstaffel head Heinrich Himmler. SG became part of the Gauliga Unterelsass, a regional first division established in the territory of Elsass, without having to first qualify. The side was quickly strengthened by the addition of other SS members who were required to leave behind their original clubs to don the white and black kit bearing the SS rune as a crest.

In their second season, in what had since become the Gauliga Elsaß, SG easily won the division and advanced through the national playoffs to the quarterfinals, where they were put out by eventual champions FC Schalke 04, who emerged as the dominant side of the era. They also took part in the 1942 Tschammerpokal tournament, predecessor to today's DFB-Pokal (German Cup), and went as far as the third round before being crushed 1:15 by TSV 1860 München on their way to a cup triumph. Their turn in the national playoffs was the highpoint of the Straßburg side's history; they could earn only third and second place results in their next two campaigns. Play in the Gauliga Unterelsass never got underway in the 1944–45 season as Allied armies began their advance through Europe and into Germany, with SG disappearing in 1944. Honours Gauliga Elsaß (I) champions: 1942

Mescalito (album) and SG SS Straßburg

Mescalito is the first studio album by American country rock singer/songwriter Ryan Bingham, released in 2007 through Lost Highway Records and produced by Marc Ford.

Contents 1 Production 2 Reception 3 Track listing 4 Credits 5 Music videos 6 References


The album was released after three self-produced albums by Bingham and his band, the Dead Horses. Some of the tracks in Mescalito, such as "South Side of Heaven" (the main single from the album) and "Long Way From Georgia" were taken from the Dead Horses albums (specifically, from Wishbone Saloon). The album encompasses several traditional American and Mexican styles, including bluegrass, country rock, southern rock, blues, americana and mariachi ("Boracho Station").

Mescalito was produced by guitarist Marc Ford (of Black Crowes fame) and features several prominent artists of the country and southern rock scene, such as Terry Allen (who makes a cameo appearance in "Ghost of Travelin' Jones"), Joe Ely, and Marc Ford himself, who plays electric guitar in "The Other Side" and "Bread and Water" and slide guitar in "Hard Times". A different version of "The Other Side" was also included in Marc Ford's album Weary and Wired. Reception

The album was generally well received by critics, who praised Bingham's songwriting as well as the expressiveness of his voice, that was compared to those of Tom Waits and Steve Earle, although some described Bingham's style as too manieristic and monotonous. Besides Earle and Allen, Rolling Stones, John Mellencamp, Bruce Springsteen and Joe Strummer have been cited as obvious influences in Bingham's work.

The main single "Southside of Heaven" was well received commercially, and was included in the score of an episode of the E.R. TV series. Track listing "Southside of Heaven" – 6:19 "The Other Side" – 2:11 "Bread and Water" – 4:08 "Don't Wait For Me" – 4:56 "Boracho Station" – 2:03 "Sunshine" – 4:20 "Ghost of Travelin' Jones" – 4:09 "Hard Times" – 4:38 "Dollar a Day" – 2:11 "Take It Easy Mama" – 3:03 "Long Way From Georgia" – 3:54 "Ever Wonder Why" - 4:59 "Sunrise" - 4:45 "For What It's Worth" - 13:58 Credits Jeb Venable - Bass Bukka Allen - Accordion Joe Allen - Bass Terry Allen - Piano, Vocals ("Ghost of Travelin' Jones") Anthony "Antoine" Arvizu - Tambourine, Producer, Engineer, Mixing Kevin Bartley - Mastering John Bazz - Bass (Upright) Melanie Bellomo - Cover Photo Ryan Bingham - Guitar (Acoustic), Harmonica, Vocals, Vocals (bckgr), Handclapping, Slide Guitar, Shaker, Author, Foot Stomping Stéphane Bossard - Banjo Brent Bowers - Artist Coordination Kim Buie - A&R Jason Carter - Fiddle Boyd Elder - Illustrations David Ferguson - Engineer Marc Ford - Guitar (Acoustic), Bass, Guitar (Electric), Organ (Hammond), Tambourine, Producer, Slide Guitar, Shaker, Mixing, Lap Steel Guitar, Hi Hat, Papoose Jon Gries - Photography Lucas Hoge - Producer Coy Koehler - Photography David Krepinevich - Assistant Engineer Jeff Lightning Lewis - Assistant Engineer Rick Lonow - Percussion, Drums Mike Malone - Piano, Organ (Hammond) Carlton Moody - Producer Doug Moreland - Fiddle Karen Naff - Design Corby Schaub - Mandolin, Guitar (Electric), Vocals (bckgr), Handclapping, Foot Stomping, Kettle Drums Matt Smith - Percussion, Drums Brian Standefer - Cello, Engineer Mike Starr - Fiddle, Slide Guitar Music videos

"Southside of Heaven".  (Directed/ Produced by Anna Axster) "Bread and Water".  (Directed/ Produced by Anna Axster)
42+255 41 43 44